Ryan Gruss

#16 – Beyond The Skies [A Tribute to my Grandad]

I was incredibly surprised to see such a great reaction to my sonnet that I’ve decided to share another very personal poem of mine with you guys.

‘Beyond the Skies’ was written in 2011 after the peaceful passing of my grandfather, someone whom I admired and respected incredibly.

The poem was both a medium for me to celebrate his life and share my own personal expression. Here it is for you to enjoy:

He did not look for the sunset;
As the swift years would come and go;
Instead he looked for the sunrise,
And the golden morning glow,
Where the light of his glory
Would break forth for our sight,
In a land that knows no sunset,
Nor the darkness of the cold night.

His words were blessed with mellow joy
With his loving embrace never too far,
His heart was a gift from the heavens,
Kindles in the core of a newborn star,
He is now walking up the hillside,
Where the sunshine lights his way,
To the glory of the iridescent sunrise
And his soul’s never ending day.

He is not going down, but upward,
And his path is never dim,
For the day grows ever brighter
As we journey on with him.
So his eyes are on the hilltops,
Waiting for the sun to rise,
Waiting for the invitation,
To his home beyond the skies.

Thanks so much for reading this post and let me know your comments below!!

This entry was published on December 23, 2013 at 3:00 pm. It’s filed under Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “#16 – Beyond The Skies [A Tribute to my Grandad]

  1. What a beautiful tribute!

  2. Yes, a wonderful tribute. He must have been very special. So was mine who came from Sicily. I want end to thank you for following my blog. Going to poke around yours.. Good luck on your venture!

  3. Ajaytao2010 on said:

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  4. Such hope and joy in your Granddad! You portrayed him with honor! Beautiful and inspiring…Your Granddad is a man to admire and to emulate in our own lives! Thank you for your tribute to him and sharing it with us!

Leave a Reply

